Injury – it happens to all of us

The one thing runners fear most is injury, followed closely by illness. It keeps you off your feet for an indefinite time and we’re notorious for shrugging it off, given our tolerances for high stress and pain.

On Tuesday, I became victim to some sort of foot problem that remains unidentified. The likely diagnosis is tendinitis, plantar fasciitis or a stress fracture (I really hope it isn’t this). The pain is dull and resides on the outer left edge of my left foot and seems to come and go as it pleases, with regular walking and running having no negative or positive effect on it. Massaging it provides instant relief, as does ibuprofen gel and tablets. I pray that it resolves itself by next weekend, when Dave and I tackle the Bath Half Marathon with our PB goal.

The injury has had one positive outcome by making me volunteer at the Cannon Hill Parkrun this week instead of racing. I’ve been having pangs of guilt recently where I’ve wanted to volunteer due to how regularly I run. Acting as a marshall, it was odd not running but enjoyable being able to view Parkrun from a different perspective. I think I did a pretty good job of marshalling and provided support for everybody on the return leg of the course.

Fingers crossed this is a momentary blip!

Leave a Reply

