This week’s running – 1st to 7th of September 2014

Cardiff Castle

This is not where the Cardiff 10k went past this year…

This week was all about final preparations for the Cardiff 10k.

1x 1 mile, 2x 800m, 1x 1 mile

With the Cardiff 10k at the end of the week, I was cautious not to over-do things. I decided to dig out the hodgepodge session consisting of 1x 1 mile (10k pace), 2x 800m (5k pace) and 1x 1 mile (10k pace). A bit like a sampler platter; it gets my range of faster twitch muscles working at different paces without knackering me too much.

I had to scale the 5k pace back to 3:50/km from the 3:35/km I was running on the track – it’s that little bit harder for me to achieve faster paces at the reservoir whilst constantly monitoring my surroundings.

All in all, a good session. I was working hard and it got me wondering how on earth I could even run 6 miles at 10k pace when single mile reps left me close to my limit.

Here’s the Garmin data for this session.

10k along Hagley Road

Somewhat unexpected was how fresh I felt during my run on Thursday. Everything felt loose and at ease and had it not have been for the steep incline back towards the Jewellery Quarter, I’d have royal flushed too.

Here’s the Garmin data for this run.

Cardiff 10k 2014

Click here to read the full report of the 2014 Cardiff 10k.

Without further ado, it’s time for this week’s entry (one close to my heart, or should that be skin…) from Mark Remy’s The Runner’s Rule Book:

Choose your tattoos wisely

This is always good advice, and not just for runners. That super-cool tribal tat you got at age 23 isn’t going to look quite so super-cool when you’re a sagging 85 and have to explain to yet another nurse that no, it is not a skin condition, it’s a Polynesian symbol that means “free spirit.” Tattoos for runners fall into two basic categories:

  1. Running – or race specific. We’re talking here about those “26.2” tattoos or a little running guy on your ankle or – for a more select crowd – perhaps the Ironman logo. These are the equivalent of a bumper sticker that says I ♥ RUNNING. Except it’s on your body, and you can’t peel it off with a razor blade.
  2. Generally cool and/or badass. These are tattoos that don’t scream “running” or even necessarily whisper it. They’re just cool. Typically they express, via words or symbols, the idea that the owner of the tat is disciplined or tough or otherwise up to the challenge. Think “fire-breathing dragon” or the words up to the challenge.

If you do decide to get a running tattoo, be sure you can back it up. I have no tattoos, running or otherwise. If I did get one, it would likely be the Japanese characters meaning “wheeze.”

The lesson here: Be wise. Think before you ink.

Leave a Reply

