This week’s running – 12th to 18th of January 2015

What is a brass monkey anyway?

What is a “brass monkey” anyway? This is what Wikipedia says…

This week was all about final preparation towards the Brass Monkey Half Marathon, so this entry is purposely short.

10k fartlek along Hagley Road

In an ideal world, I wanted to have completed this run more frequently this month before the Brass Monkey, but last week’s cold put an end to that.

There was no fitness goal in mind behind this run; it was just something faster to keep the legs turning over at a decent rate until Sunday’s race.

Here’s the Garmin data for this run.

5k from work

I probably didn’t need the run home from work seeing as I had already committed myself to using a Joker towards Jantastic, but part of me wanted to try and get back into a routine of sorts.

Here’s the Garmin data for this run.

Fear the niggle

Any fans of 24 out there? Lis and I just recently started to watch the adventures of Jack Bauer, so I had been sitting down a lot more than usual.

They say sitting is slowly killing us all. Whilst I lived to tell the tale, my right knee picked up some sort of niggle. There was no ache or soreness present; simply a feeling that something wasn’t mechanically right with it on the inside. Loading it with my body weight appeared fine, so I wrote-off all of the week’s remaining runs up to race day to give it a chance to settle down.

Thankfully, normal service resumed come Friday. Not a single peep out of the knee on the walk into and out of work, and an entire day’s walking in York on Saturday was all the confirmation I needed.

Brass Monkey Half Marathon 2015

For my full race review, please click here.

Lis recently asked me what I would do once I ran out of things to quote from Mark Remy’s The Runner’s Rule Book. I don’t actually have an answer right now, but what I do know is that I’m getting dangerously close to the end of the book…

Fight the urge to drop out

If you’re doing it right, at some point you will want to drop out of just about every race you run. This is normal. Recognize this fact and expect it. During your training, anticipate how you’ll respond when this happens, when your body rebels and your mind urges you to stop.

Leave a Reply

