This week’s running – 3rd to 8th of August 2015

Race or a wedding? You decide!

Race or a wedding? You decide!

This week was all about the big day!

6 mile fartlek

The wind was blowing too hard for 800m reps, so I had to settle on the 6 mile fartlek run instead. Things felt a touch easier compared to last week’s blast, due entirely to not paying attention and ending up on the other side of Hagley Road.

Here’s the Garmin data for this run.

14 miles

I didn’t think it would be too wise to run my long run on the morning of the wedding, so hence why it showed up on Thursday afternoon instead.

I wonder how I ever managed to complete 18+ mile marathon training runs when this outing broke me so badly. The temperature crept back up again after a few weeks in the mid-teens. Humidity was also way up there and I’ve now come to the conclusion that I never want to train for an autumn marathon – give me cold, harsh winters anytime!

Bizarrely, I stopped sweating after 5 or so miles, which didn’t help. I was reasonably well hydrated going into the run, and even carried a bottle of electrolyted water, so what gives?

By mile 12, I was in pieces. It felt like the last 6 miles of a marathon!

Ultimately, I’m glad I completed it but it’s a far cry from what I’ve been capable of in the past in terms of half marathon training runs. This upcoming autumn season will be interesting to say the least!

Here’s the Garmin data for this run.

Cannon Hill Parkrun

The wedding gang

The wedding gang (Dave, Dan, Andy, Lis, Elsa and Iain) – photo by Geoff Hughes

My final run as a single man!

Back in January, Lis and I designed and produced our wedding invitations that actually doubled up as mock race bibs. Printed on water proof, non-tear material, they were so authentic that we actually fooled a couple of people when they landed on doorsteps!

The gang all donned their numbers, along with a surprise last minute entry from our best man, Iain. Dan also appeared as our photographer but ran out of power after only a few snaps.

It was a tough day at the office, I won’t lie. I was still feeling it from Thursday’s 14 miles and I was mentally and physically fried from all the last minute wedding preparations. I tried putting in a fast final km, but even that wasn’t enough to undo the damage from a couple of slower than 4:00 splits.

Dave went on to have a cracking sub-20 (the first since his return from injury), and Iain looked like he could have gone around the the course once more (we’d love to see him back again).

Here’s the Garmin data for this run.

Over and out

So, this post is purposely early given this weekend’s rather significant event. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks, so wish me luck and in the mean time, here’s an entry from Mark Remy’s The Runner’s Rule Book to tide things over:

No barking

Yes, we know the adrenaline is flowing and the lactic acid is like batter acid in your veins, but please, be courteous. No need to snarl “On your right!” or “On your left!” as you brush past slower runners or even (gasp!) walkers on the track.

Shouting “Track!” is worse, as 99 laypersons out of 100 will have absolutely no idea what you are saying, and will probably just turn around, bemused, directly into your path.

If the track is really that crowded, and you feel fear a collision, do what you would do off the track to alert others to your presence: Clear your throat or cough as you approach.

And give those slower, unfortunate folks wide enough berth as you pass. There’s room for both of you. And who knows? One day, you might just be the one “in the way.”

2 thoughts on “This week’s running – 3rd to 8th of August 2015

Leave a Reply

