This week’s running – 11th to 17th of January 2016

brass_monkey_route

Another annual pilgrimage to York for the Brass Monkey Half Marathon

This week was all about getting my A-game ready for the Brass Monkey Half Marathon.

8 canal miles

Wowza! Was it cold on Tuesday evening’s run! Personally, I run a little warm and will regularly be found in the winter wearing shorts and a t-shirt whilst out training, but not so on Tuesday! I squeezed into a compression vest, stuck a long-sleeve top over that, pulled on a pair of tights and finished the whole ensemble off with some gloves! And I was still able to feel the cold whilst I was out there…

On the out leg, I threw in one mile at marathon pace and on the return, I traded up for one mile at half marathon pace. I was reminded to reintroduce some glute activation exercises – they weren’t present at all during the run.

Here’s the Garmin data for this run.

5k from work

The mercury was still low on Wednesday, so out came another winter ensemble. I also had to lug my heavy winter coat home in my backpack, and after weeks of commuting with a virtually empty bag, the additional weight was most noticeable.

Here’s the Garmin data for this run.

Canal 10k with strides

Even with multiple layers, I was never able to warm-up on this particular run – I lost all feeling in my fingers after 2 miles or so!

The aim was to cover 10k and intersperse it with the odd short burst of strides to get my legs turning over. Largely achieved, though I never felt like the strides really had the anticipated outcome of restoring speed and mobility.

Here’s the Garmin data for this run.

The Brass Monkey Half Marathon 2016

For the full low-down of how my race went, please click here.

Time for a few more running rule shorts from Mark Remy’s The Runner’s Rule Book:

Running rule shorts – 41 to 50

  1. If you “need” music in order to run, you’re kind of missing the point.
  2. On a long run, it’s always better to have a bit of toilet paper and not need it, than vice versa.
  3. Wearing a terrycloth headband ironically is more annoying than wearing one in earnest.
  4. To help keep your upper body relaxed during a run, imagine you’re carrying a potato chip in each hand.
  5. If you wear it running, keep it out of the clothes dryer.
  6. The shorter the race, the more important the warmup.
  7. If a road is busy enough to make you wonder if runners are “allowed” on it, avoid running on that road.
  8. Two types of runners raise their arms in triumph at the finish line: the runner who has just won the race, and any runner who wasn’t even close to winning.
  9. Nobody has ever watched Chariots of Fire from beginning to end. Not even the people who made it.
  10. When the announcer says a race is “tactical,” he means “slow.”
Leave a Reply

