This week’s running – 25th of April to 1st of May 2016

andy_yu_cardiff_parkrun

Think all of Cardiff could hear my cries of anguish! Photo by Paul Stillman

Finally! Back to 4x runs for the week!

Training to race, or racing to train?

In a bid to get myself out of this training funk, I’ve entered a couple of 10k races to try and refocus:

  • DK10k
  • Aldridge 10k
  • Wythall & Hollywood 10k
  • Magor Marsh 10k

All are spaced sufficiently apart from each other so should allow for adequate training, recovery and some taper. Recalling my end of 2015 review, I’m now thinking my target of a sub-39:00 10k looks a wee bit soft; I guess we’ll see in just a few days when I run the DK10k…

5x 800m at 5k pace

The weather really wasn’t making things any easier for this session, what with chilly temperatures, sleet and wind to contend with. Thankfully, I’d invited Simon to join me, which kept us both accountable.

Adding to the growing list of things to derail the session was technology failure. My Garmin was consistently reporting its GPS signal was 50m out and required a hard reboot to get it to play nicely. Simon’s interval function on his Garmin also failed to record early splits properly.

I kept the 2:00 minutes recovery from the past several weeks with a view to extending the total rep count to 6x, whilst Simon had 5x in mind. I’d warned Simon not to go at my pace of circa 3:41 to 3:43 per km and instead to shoot for around 4:00 per km to best facilitate his ambitions of a sub-20 5k.

The first 2 reps were easy as pie and we barely felt them. Simon maintained a rough 15 second tail on me, though started each new rep at the same time as me to have his recoveries more like 1:45 versus my 2:00 minutes.

The next 3 reps began to sting and take their toll. The tarmac was slick from the wet conditions and my Adidas Boosts weren’t coping so well due to being near-retirement age. My form began to change at roughly halfway into each remaining interval and I had to consciously pick my cadence up to get back on pace. Simon did well and continued to maintain the rough 15 second gap behind me. The final rep slowed towards the end to avoid head on crashes with some of Kings Heath Running Club who were rapidly approaching!

Whilst I could have eked out one final rep for 6x, the sleet returned and Simon had completed his lot, so I decided to fight another day.

Splits came out as follows:

  1. 3:03
  2. 2:57
  3. 2:58
  4. 2:58
  5. 3:00

All within tolerance of each other despite the conditions and I’m sure they’d have been a smidgeon faster in the dry.

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

10k – Cannon Hill Park and back

The crazy weather did its best to convince me to stay indoors, preying on my diminished running mojo, but I wasn’t having any of it! As I laced up to head outside, I heard a massive thunderclap and did wonder what I was letting myself in for. Stepping through the door and just 30 seconds later, I was soaked to the bone; running into the rain was actually quite painful at times, such was the intensity of the rainfall. I did receive a few puzzled looks from bystanders on Kings Heath high street as I ran past…

Once in Cannon Hill Park (after getting momentarily lost on Holders Lane), I wanted to chuck one mile in at around marathon pace to see how the effort felt after weeks of neglect. It wasn’t too bad at all, even with wind and wet conditions to contend with.

I closed down the run with another blast up the almighty Cartland Road to earn myself a new Strava segment PB. Spying the leaderboard showed Andy Young has the top spot with a time almost a minute faster for the half mile long stretch!

Definitely felt better for getting some mid-week distance out there, even in such grim weather.

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

Cardiff Parkrun

With being in Lis’ motherland for the bank holiday weekend, it would have simply been rude to not visit Cardiff Parkrun for a stab at bringing my one week old 5k PB down even further.

The odds were already against me from the Friday beforehand. Minor sleep deprivation and a drive that should have only taken 1.5 hours took over 2.5 hours meant I was already pretty damn tired before I’d even taken one step in Bute Park…

Numbers at Cardiff were a touch down due the local summer series kicking-off the day before and a 10 mile race taking place the next day. Conditions were decent, though a noticeable headwind on the return leg during my warm-up indicated a new 5k PB wouldn’t just serve itself to me on a silver platter without some graft.

The start was fast as it always is at Cardiff. Very clear groups sprang up around me and I consciously went with one of the faster pairings. The first km came up as 3:35.

I began to feel the mounting effort of the task at hand by the second km. I took shelter behind a taller chap in a hat and hung on, hoping he would pull me along. My breathing remained reasonably steady, though I knew it wouldn’t last. This split clocked in at 3:42.

By 3km, the chap in the hat began to slow a touch. A hipster-looking runner went past me and this was enough to convince me to latch on to him for a tow through the awkward middle stage. Numbers around me were definitely down and I wasn’t able to stick with the hipster for long whilst running into the headwind, leaving me in the dreaded no-man’s land. I knew I had to make it through this section as quickly as possible to be in with a chance. My pace began deteriorating and I ended the split with 3:53 on the Garmin.

Due to slowing down, a small group formed around me, along with the chap in the hat returning to me – I should have just stuck with him for a much steadier run in hindsight… I hoped somebody would take the lead and move in front to give me a break, but I ended up taking charge. The wind continued to take its toll and contributed to the slowest split of the morning for 3:56.

Passing by the final km marker, I pressed on to recover as much damage as possible. I broke away from the group and chased down two guys ahead. With just 800m remaining, a glance at my Garmin flashed 15:47 on its face; I knew I could cover 800m in less than 3 minutes, so it was still worth a punt to see what would come out on the other side. I somehow missed the 400m marker, so delayed my kick until the 200m marker came into view. I was red-lining and prayed to Steve Prefontaine up above that I’d done enough to sneak under 18:30…

It wasn’t to be. 18:35 was all I could muster, but I’m confident a calmer day would have been just the ticket. I’ll be back in Cardiff again in a few short weeks, so hopefully the weather will be more forgiving!

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

10 miles – to Usk and back

The pace was kept easy due to the previous day’s effort, but also with the DK10k quickly creeping up.

Little drama apart from rural drivers not quite realising how vulnerable pedestrians are on country lanes with no pavement. I always run facing the traffic on rural roads to buy myself a bit of extra wiggle room should the situation become hairy. The exception to this is on a right-facing bend where I can’t see oncoming traffic and they can’t see me, so I’ll switch over to run with the traffic where they should then have clear visibility of me from behind. The number of drivers that were signalling for me to get over on to the other side of the road on the bend! In all the years I’ve covered the route to Usk, I’ve never had an issue and this was the very first time I encountered such a problem.

Nearing the end of the run, I did debate with myself internally to have a crack at bringing down the Strava segment course record near the farm, though the prevailing headwind convinced me otherwise.

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

One thought on “This week’s running – 25th of April to 1st of May 2016

Leave a Reply

