This week’s running – 31st October to 6th of November 16 2016

conductive_education_10k_2016

Let’s return to training with a 10k race…

Yes, it’s good to be back and with a 10k race and 42 mile week at that!

14 mins LT pace, 4 minutes recovery, 12 mins LT pace

After last week’s botched attempt at kick starting my half marathon training plan, this particular week saw it begin in earnest with this doozy of a run. I’ll be the first to admit tempo and lactate threshold pace is my weakness; I really don’t enjoy the intensity for a prolonged period, but fully acknowledge the big training return.

Based on my now likely soft 84:54 half marathon PB, my lactate threshold pace would sit around 6:21, but it never materialised and the best I could achieve was 6:31. At least it was consistent between the 14 and 12 minute blocks! Hopefully, I’ll be able to bring it down to 6:21 over the coming weeks once pace familiarity develops.

This was also my first head torch run for months on the once again re-opened canal towpath from Brindley Place to Bournville. I love this time of the year due to how quiet it is, though all the dead leaves collecting are a serious recreational hazard! Touch wood, I’ve been nimble enough on my feet to avoid several hairy moments, though I can’t shake the feeling that it must only be a matter of time before I trip over or turn an ankle in…

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

5 miles recovery

Despite the previous day’s session, I still felt fresh as a daisy on this recovery run, thanks to the prolonged break from running.

Running through Cannon Hill Park with only my head torch for illumination was pretty hair raising, and I was surprised to see British Military Fitness still running classes in the dark.

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

9 miles from work

Very much a repeat of Tuesday, except with “Gangnam Style” blaring out from the university as I passed, and without the stomach churning LT pace!

Whilst the training schedule originally had the mid-week medium-long runs spread across a variety of distances, from 7 to 11 miles, I’ve been fettling again to boost the minimum length to 9 miles for simplicity and convenience. Any runs explicitly prescribed as longer than 9 miles remain untouched. During this same window in 2015, my typical mid-week medium-long run came in around 10 miles as standard without issue.

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

Cannon Hill Parkrun

andy_yu_cannon_hill_parkrun

Brass Monkey Half Marathon 2015 top was apt! Photo by Geoff Hughes

It was pretty damn cold on Parkrunday, prompting me to leave my long-sleeve top donned and simply roll up my sleeves when I began warming up!

With a race the following day, I opted to keep the pace calm and collected for 19:42; in hindsight on paper, this was probably still a touch too fast, though no harm was done.

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

Conductive Education 10k 2016

For the full write-up of the 2016 Conductive Education 10k, please click here.

Leave a Reply

