This week’s running – 3rd to 9th of April 2017

andy_yu_ronnie_bowker_2017

Back running. Back racing! Photo by Liz Dexter

Huzzah! My first full week of uninterrupted training since December!

10k – 1k off, 2k on etc

Identifying that I currently have proportionately more pace than endurance, this off the cuff session was cobbled together in a bid to try and better bridge the two disparate elements. Target pace for the 2k intervals was in the region of 7:00 per mile, so 2016 marathon pace or thereabouts.

The session wasn’t as tough as I envisaged. I was able to hit marathon pace without much difficulty with my legs often wanting to go faster. The only struggle appeared during the climb on Holders Lane at pace, though that’s hardly surprising. All in all, a positive outcome on both physical and mental fronts in terms of training effect and confidence building.

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

4 miles commute from the Bullring

Much like the last time I had a complete and uninterrupted training week, it was December when I previously embarked on a run-commute. I even gave that lengthy interview about my experience run-commuting – I feel like such a charlatan! Anywho, what’s in the past is in the past and I’m doing what I can to move onwards and upwards once again.

One of the first signs of how alien run-commuting had become was packing my kit the night before. I used to have a routine that was all completed on auto-pilot, whereas I found myself having to think quite long and hard about what was needed.

Needing to pick something up in Waterstones, I opted to get changed into my gear there, though John Lewis is still my first choice for availability and cleanliness of facilities.

Looking to keep things easy, where I’ve typically treated these run-commutes as recovery runs, I aimed for around 70% of max heart rate, which translated to 8:50 to 9:00 minutes per mile (excluding climbs).

Whilst not the most exciting of runs, this was once a staple of my weekly recovery and training – re-introducing it did wonders to re-establish training normality. Sometimes, it’s the sum of the parts that delivers the biggest bang.

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

9 miles from work

Ah! Another of my old faithful runs that made a re-appearance!

Some of you may be wondering why I’m so keen to get back to something that bears some semblance to a full training week. Well, it’s my desire to begin the P&D marathon schedule again in mid-May as preparation towards October’s Yorkshire Marathon. I thrived last year whilst under the tutelage of Mr Pfitzinger and Mr Douglas, producing a rewarding marathon PB that would have been the stuff of lunacy based on my previous marathon performances. I want to be in the right kind of shape to be able to tackle the training, which, as many of you will recall, was pretty intensive at times.

I’d seemingly learned nothing from last year, where doing whatever I could to make runs and sessions comfortable was the priority. I normally eat a banana mid-afternoon to top myself up for an evening run, but because I wasn’t feeling hungry, decided against it. This, naturally, ensured the first half was awful, mired by hunger and low energy levels. Somehow, I found second wind from seemingly nowhere to at least have the second half feeling much stronger.

I won’t be repeating that mistake anytime soon, hopefully!

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

Cannon Hill parkrun

I adopted somewhat of an inverse taper strategy towards Sunday’s Ronnie Bowker 10k. Not recommended, normally, but I wanted to get back to running five times a week rather than sacrifice another week for a low-key 10k.

Having said the above, I still wanted to give myself a fighting chance at the race, so Simon and I took parkrun nice and slow, settling on 7:30 per mile/4:40 per km. “Nice and slow” is of course all relative; whilst we were fully conversational, having a natter about Simon’s recent holiday, there were people blowing up all around us – we even heard people whispering, “How are they able to still talk???”

Here’s the Strava data for this run.

Afterwards, I previewed to Dave the adapted P&D Advanced Marathoning schedule that I will use for October’s Yorkshire Marathon. The plan is to tweak and modify the schedule so that Dave can also utilise it, albeit without as much mileage, but leaving semblance of the core marathon pace and mid-week medium-long runs intact.

Ronnie Bowker 10k 2017 review

Please click here for the rundown of the race.

So, am I back?

In total, I clocked just over 35 miles for the week, which is the most I have run since mid-December.

It’s taken much longer than originally anticipated, but I think I’ve finally turned a corner and am excited about running again. The past week felt as close to normal as I could have hoped for with some training, some racing and some planning.

Yes, you read that right – planning! I’m not quite ready to share my modified P&D marathon plan with you, just yet, but I will say there will be more races squeezed in to take the edge off the marathon pace sessions.

Am I back? You betcha!

 

One thought on “This week’s running – 3rd to 9th of April 2017

Leave a Reply

